Veep: S1

Julia Louis-Dreyfus stars in a HBO series as the Vice President (of the United States).  I’d heard good things about Veep, so I decided to watch a few episodes.  I got through the first two and gave up.  It’s not awful, but it’s not really my kind of comedy.  I’ve said it before.  Comedy is extremely subjective, so keep that in mind.  It reminded me of The Office.  Also a little too close to the dimwittedness of Sarah Palin.  Not sure I really want to be reminded of that on a weekly basis.  Very dry, dead pan, I like a bit more of a belly laugh show.  Fans of Louis-Dreyfus from Seinfeld and snarky, understated sit-coms may find this show to be the gem that many report it is.  I’m ready for something a little different to tickle my funny bone.  A 2 out of 5.

5/26/2017: I decided to watch the full first season of Veep again since it’s been renewed so many times and Julia Louis-Dreyfus has won so many awards. It’s excellent. I understand the appeal. I certainly think I was too hard on it the first time around. But it’s still not my type of comedy. I can appreciate the humor. I just don’t have those much-needed belly laughs. Certainly you may disagree and I urge you to check it out if it’s not already a favorite. For Reel Charlie, 3 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

