Looking: S1

looking s1Looking takes its time. And I like that. Looking is a half-hour drama based on the lives of three gay male friends in modern-day San Francisco. I watched Looking a second time last week – Season 1 is only 8 episodes so it’s easy to revisit. I was profoundly moved by the series the second time around. First time around I was impatient. It had been nearly ten years since Queer as Folk ended. So much had changed in the world. Except diversity and representation in the media. We are still fighting to get our stories told. It’s no different than it was 10 years ago. So Looking premiered and the gay press ate it alive. People found it dull, boring. What did they want? A gay action series? A gay Breaking Bad? A gay The Walking Dead? That would be cool, but that’s not what Looking is and I’m so happy I not only stuck with it, but revisited the entire season prior to watching the delicate and lovely season finale. Looking is intelligent, slow, awkward at times. But I believe all of that is on purpose. I believe it’s forcing us to slow down and digest these characters, these plots and appreciate the nuances of life. It certainly picked up steam.  I felt Ep. 5, 7, and 8 were stellar.  Patrick and Richie spend the day together – no other characters – just the two of them in the most beautiful American city as a back-drop.  Then Patrick goes to his sister’s wedding. And in the season finale Patrick and Augustin go to Dom’s pop-up. I’m angry at Augustin and wish they’d consider swapping him for Doris. She gets the best lines of the show and any actor who can do so much with so little air time begs to have her role expanded. I’m excited to watch Looking again and very excited the show’s been picked up for a second season. As I said when I reviewed Dallas Buyers Club, we need a thousand shows about all the different permutations of our lives. I’m excited about the next season of Looking and excited to see more variations of queer programming in the near future. 4 out of 5 for Looking.

Best lines from Season 1: Ep. 7 (Looking for a Plus One):
Doris: We’re going to need some Swiffers.
Doris: FoodieFuckers

1/7/2015: Binge watching the first season of Looking on Blu-ray feels so good. I have grown to love this slow burn of a show. Re-watching the first season made me appreciate it all the more. It’s nuanced, sophisticated and mature. I’m upping my rating to 5 out of 5. Can’t wait for Season two to begin this Sunday.

12/5/2016: Still brilliant. Better now that I’ve seen the complete series and movie. Love, love, love this series. Thank you creator Michael Lannan, and executive producers David Marshall Grant, Sarah Condon, and Andrew Haigh.

2 Responses to “Looking: S1”

  1. urbanfoodguy Says:

    Totally agree! I had real issues with the series then came episode 5 and I thought Great, but then 6 sucked, mostly because of Augustin who is just a vile reprehensible narcissist and every time he is on I want to change the channel. Love Doris and Dom and hope we see more of Her and also I really hope Richie gets to come back in Season 2 as I like him best – he was one of the only characters that made emotional sense and that behaved in a way that I thought real and compelling. I was very happy with the final episode although I still have no understanding why Patrick is still friends with Augustin who was a total asshole to him about Richie. Everyone I know would have stopped talking to him if he said and behaved the way he did in the park over Richie. At the end of the day I am just so happy to have this serious to love/hate because for whatever my issues I couldn’t wait to see the next episode and now I am so bummed we have to wait and find out if it’s going to be renewed?

    Like

Leave a Reply

