The Bridge: S1 E1

bridge s1Watched the first episode of the American FX remake of the Danish-Swedish series Broen/Bron/The Bridge. I was hoping to strike gold again, as I’ve done so often in recent years during this glorious new golden age of television. But The Bridge just didn’t shine. The plot felt ordinary. I never felt a pull into the lives of the characters as I do in so many of my favorite shows on television this season. I was hoping for better from The Bridge specifically because Diane Kruger (Joyeux Noel) stars in it along with Mexican actor Demián Bichir and Tom Wright (Top of the Lake). But it just didn’t snag me. To be honest, I have so much television to watch this year and next I am relieved every time a new program doesn’t speak to me. The Bridge wasn’t awful, it was just so-so. 2.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

