Looking cancelled

Looking-Ending-x400Stories are spreading online of the demise of HBO’s sophomore series Looking, an amazing television series about the lives of young gay men in San Francisco. I’ve already read a ton of nasty comments from gay men online – we love to eat our own. From Indiewire,

“Looking” is shutting its eyes. Following the conclusion of its second season, the dramedy created by Michael Lannan and directed by Andrew Haigh has been canceled by HBO.

The Season 2 finale — which ended on what was presumably a pretty dramatic cliffhanger (I didn’t read the details, because I still need to catch up) — won’t be where things end. Similar to the cancelation of Stephen Merchant’s “Hello Ladies,” HBO will produce a special episode to conclude the series.

Despite a groundswell of praise for its nuanced portrait of its San Francisco gay life, “Looking” failed to attract strong ratings and awards attention, the latter of which can be especially key for HBO in making renewal decisions.

I think the fact that Looking hit a nerve with people who either hated it – found it boring or loved it meant it was doing something right. I am definitely part of the love crowd. In time I think television historians will look back on this show and wonder why it didn’t gather a stronger viewership.

Read Reel Charlie’s review of Looking: Season 1.
Read Reel Charlie’s review of Looking: Season 2.

2 Responses to “Looking cancelled”

  1. Priscilla Says:

    I’m sorry it didn’t get the ratings HBO felt it needed. One did not have to be gay to love this series – and Patrick. He became so real to me, like a grandson searching for home. Great casting.
    So many of my favorite shows don’t make it. I consider that a compliment. I don’t want to be part of the masses that make the ratings soar by watching meaningless TV.
    #Disappointed in Gainesville.

    Like

    • reelcharlie Says:

      Priscilla – such an astute comment. Thank you for writing. I feel the same way, I don’t want to be part of the masses either. I just wish with 400 channels and streaming services producing content, there was more room for smaller, quieter productions. I’m still hopeful with web series and what’s going on at Netflix and Amazon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

