Bloodline: S1

bloodlineNow that so many of my favorite television shows are winding down for the year, I’ve reloaded my to-watch list adding some shows I want to check out. Bloodline, the new Netflix show based in the Florida keys was an easy watch last night because I mainly wanted to see how pretty the show was due to location. Bloodline does have a lot of outdoor shots, but nothing looks as pretty as I expected. The series initially feels like an adult children family drama but eventually gives some clues that this is going to be a hybrid show with an emphasis on a murder – and by the end of the second episode it’s clear there’s more than one murder. Styling of the actors and sets are excellent. The cast is also top-notch – Sissy Spacek and Sam Shepard play the aging parents of said children. It’s still kind of weird seeing Sissy as a grandmother. She will forever be Carrie to me. Bloodline is decent. It didn’t scream out magnificent to me. There are several moments of awkward dialogue in the first two episodes. Particularly the first interaction between the four siblings which I felt was a crucial interaction to the power dynamic in the family. It feels a little too much like a Florida version of Brothers and Sisters. I supposed the multiple murders give it an original flare, but I’m just not that interested in continuing with the show. 2 out of 5. Next.

8/29/15: Every so often, I eat crow. It took me two tries to get into Mad Men. Then I bowed out before the final season. But both Breaking Bad and The Walking Dead took me several tries before I crowned each a masterpiece. Bloodline didn’t grab me the first time I watched it. But this time I gave it another chance and I’m glad I did. The casting is outstanding, the styling and writing excellent. And the acting is off the charts, particularly the actors who play the adult children: Ben Mendelsohn, Kyle Chandler, Linda Cardellini, and Norbert Leo Butz. All four are perfectly cast. Mendelsohn and Chandler do a particularly outstanding job. Mendelsohn’s Danny scared the shit out of me to be honest. What was I thinking? Bloodline is a whole lot of fun. Atmospheric, spooky, startling, and surprising up until the final moments of the season. You wonder how they will create a season 2 and then boom. 4 out of 5 my revised rating.

2 Responses to “Bloodline: S1”

  1. thejewels18 Says:

    Oh my, yes! Glad you gave it a second chance because we were about to give up after the first couple of episodes but continued on your recommendation. At Episode 11 now and mesmerized. Danny is one fascinating, ever so charming, and downright creepy guy. Love the flashback style. Conch power! Thanx Philip

    Like

    • reelcharlie Says:

      Yeah, Jewels! Danny indeed is a captivating character – creepy and alluring and so dangerous. I hope Mendelsohn wins the Emmy he deserves. Love the whole casual, insular world the writers create with the Keys.

      Like

Leave a Reply

