Grace and Frankie: S1

grace and frankie s1

Binged through five episodes of Netflix’s brand-new half-hour television series, Grace and Frankie starring Jane Fonda, Lily Tomlin, Martin Sheen, and Sam Waterston. Desperately hoping this would become my new favorite television show. There are a few great moments in each episode but unfortunately the rest of the series is riddled with unevenness and dare I say it – dullness. I get this was spun as a comedy when it truly is more of a drama.  I love comedic-infused dramas. I love dramas. I kept watching one more episode hoping the ingredients would gel together. I realize I didn’t watch all thirteen episodes, but five should be enough to give me what I need. Overnight I thought of the perfection of shows like Transparent. From the moment that show began there was magic and beauty with all the elements coming together seemingly effortlessly.  I don’t see that in Grace and Frankie. I adore Jane and Lily – separately and together. I thought the casting of Sheen and Waterston as their exes who leave them for each other genius. But each actor spends too much time searching for direction. The fact that all four of them are in their 70’s created the possibility for a new kind of entertainment with a focus away from youth. That’s something I continue to look forward to and know will work given the right combination of producers and directors. I certainly don’t blame the actors. In the end, there’s too much outstanding television and film to watch. I am sorry to say goodbye to this great idea, but it’s time to move on. I didn’t hate Grace and Frankie. It just never rose to the excellence I imagined. 3 out of 5 for this awkward series.

Leave a Reply

