A Most Violent Year

a most violent yearSo here’s my question. Who comes up with an idea to write a screenplay about competing home heating oil companies stealing from each other in the metropolitan NYC area during the 1980’s? Is it writer/director J.C. Chandor? And when he does come up with this idea, how does he write the script so it turns out not only smart but suspenseful? How do I know it was suspenseful? Because I jumped and yelled at least three times during the film. How do I know that? Because my dog Farley has started running to me whenever I shriek during a movie and licking my face to comfort me. A Most Violent Year was a three face lick film. And finally how do you get funding and find stars like Oscar Isaac, Jessica Chastain, Albert Brooks and David Oyelowo to sign on? In the end the answer to all of these questions is who cares because the film is extremely well-constructed. I was amazed at how well it held my attention. Sensitive artist types might want to ponder Chandor’s use of the color yellow. Sensitive types in general might want to know that although it’s not a non-stop uber-violent piece, it’s still got a modicum of queasy violence. But A Most Violent Year is a smart film with outstanding pacing and worth the violent moments. I’ve never known characters like these in real life. I still have no desire to know them personally. But somehow Chandor makes their story riveting. Oh, and beefcake fans take note: Alessandro Nivola’s butt in those tennis shorts is worth the price of admission. 4 out of 5 for A Most Violent Year.

One Response to “A Most Violent Year”

  1. urbanfoodguy Says:

    Great and very funny review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

