Viharsarok (Land of Storms)

land of stormsThroughout the month of June I’ll not only be reviewing classic favorites, but also brand-new films watched for the very first time. From Netflix DVD, I acquired the Hungarian film, Viharsarok (Land of Storms). By now you know my 30-minute rule – if a movie doesn’t grab me in the first 30 minutes, it’s next! Land of Storms definitely annoyed me and by minute 25 nothing had happened in the film. But somehow I managed to watch the entire film, so my frustration comes from the full screening and not an abbreviated version. There was a dullness to Viharsarok. A story I’ve seen many times before. Closeted young men in rural areas getting targeted and abused. Certainly this continues to go on around the world. Absolutely a theme worthy of exploration. Viharsarok just didn’t take me anywhere. I didn’t care about the characters. I didn’t understand their motivation. I was creeped out and not in a good way. The film was bleak and weary with no sense of direction. And then the ending. I guessed it, but I was still shocked they chose it. I won’t ruin the ending other than to say of course these things can still happen, but really? Honestly? Did you have to go there? Homophobia at its ugliest. 2 out of 5 for Viharsarok. Next.

Leave a Reply

