Shutter Island

shutter islandMy niece Lauren’s partner Paul told me Leonardo DiCaprio is his favorite actor. He is if I’m paraphrasing correctly, the best actor of their (30-something) generation. I’ve watched the films Paul suggested. I believe I can finally let go of trying to give Leonardo DiCaprio another chance. I loved him as a young character actor (What’s Eating Gilbert Grape, This Boy’s Life). Hell, I even liked him in Romeo + Juliet. But as soon as he set sail on the Titanic, all bets were off. He certainly doesn’t need my approval. He’s got legions of fans. I just don’t get the appeal. He’s just not leading man material to me. He’s stiff as a board in everything I’ve seen him in as an adult. Shutter Island is no different. And on top of that, it’s an awkward, dull, predictable story. I could almost hear the screenwriters sitting around deciding what to write about that would sell to the masses. No thank you. Even Mark Ruffalo whom I think is a first-rate actor couldn’t save this epic fail. Shawshank it’s not. 1 out of 5 for Shutter Island. Next.

Sorry PLS. As my older sister says, “can we agree to disagree?” No? I didn’t think so either. That’s what I like about you.
For all my other readers, skip Shutter Island and queue up Shawshank Redemption instead.

Leave a Reply

