The Skeleton Twins

skeleton twinsPerhaps I was bummed out from Shutter Island, but I didn’t love The Skeleton Twins after hoping I would. I liked it. But it felt predictable. Having three sisters and no brothers, I love the idea of brother/sister films. The only other one I can think of is You Can Count on Me, one of my favorite films of all-time. The Skeleton Twins tried hard and succeeded modestly, but it never blew me away. Kristin Wiig and Bill Hader were great. Luke Wilson was his usual solid self. And Ty Burrell was creepy in a good way as I always knew he could be. Maybe I’d rather see a happier film about a brother and a sister. This was billed as a comedy, but I don’t remember laughing much at all. I don’t mind dark, most of you know that. But The Skeleton Twins proved to be ordinary dark. I thought the lip-synching scene was forced. The Halloween drag scene and the flashbacks were too obvious. Okay, we get it. He’s gay and used to like to dress in drag on Halloween when he was a kid. I’m ready to move on to something more substantial. And she sleeps around because she’s in a dull marriage. Show me something more interesting. More subtle than just a lifetime of damage from parental death and child abuse. Those are extremely tragic occurrences in someone’s life. But for the film I wanted to see nuance, not just the surface damage. In the end, The Skeleton Twins wasn’t a great film. I liked it fine, but it’s not a film I’m going to remember or suggest to people years from now. 3.5 out of 5 because they tried hard.

4 Responses to “The Skeleton Twins”

  1. Uncle Barb Says:

    Wanted to like this film, so many young people have recommended it to me and I really like Wiig. That said, it was a snoozer and loser. Too much reliance on trite stereotypes and empty symbols. To quote Reel Charlie: “Next”

    Like

  2. Karen Says:

    One more good brother/sister film: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0775529/?ref_=nm_flmg_act_22

    Like

Leave a Reply

