American Horror Story: Hotel

american horror story hotelI watched the first episode of American Horror Story: Hotel, Season 5. In the past, I’ve hung in there with each incarnation of this fascinating show. Blurring genres, homages to famous films, Jessica Lange. It’s all good. I gave Season 1 and 3 (Coven) a perfect score. I never rated Asylum for some odd reason. I gave last season’s Freak Show (S4) a 2 out of 5, giving the overall series a 4 out of 5. All that said, I watched the premiere episode of Hotel with Lady Gaga and Matt Bomer. I get it. The costumes are perfect, the sets are pristine. And the acting is its usual high talent fun – Kathy Bates, Denis O’Hare add the power, Sarah Paulson and Evan Peters add the continuity. Cheyenne Jackson, Wes Bentley and Bomer add the sex appeal. And Gaga is crowned the new queen. And props to the writers for introducing so many bisexual characters in one series. The constant complaint from the bisexual community of no visability must have been heard loud and clear. But for me personally, there’s too much gore. I don’t want to see that many necks sliced in one hour. I get that it’s a horror series. It does everything more than well – exceedingly well. I’m just done watching. 3 out of 5 for American Horror Story: Hotel.

Leave a Reply

