Avengers: Age of Ultron

avengers age of ultrnoWhat can I say? I’m not the demographic for these super hero films. There’s no plot. Everything is a set-up to use special effects mainly to destroy things. I would be fine with this – I am fine with this – it’s a healthy way to get out aggression. But where are the films that use these big effects houses to create other kinds of stories? Why does it always have to be about aggression, war, and destruction? Why can’t we use insanely beautiful special effects in films about futuristic relationships, films where we’ve cured disease and are working on healing the planet, films where people argue about how the world should proceed but do it without cruelty, hatred and annihilation. That’s the movies I want to see. That’s the science fiction I want to explore. That’s the near future worlds I want to inhabit. I know, I know. What’s stopping me? Meanwhile 2 out of 5 for Avengers: Age of Ultron. After an hour I had enough of destroying the world in order to save it. Boring. Mind numbing. Next.

Leave a Reply

