Fargo: S2

fargo s2Everyone and by everyone I mean some of my opinionated film and television viewing friends told me if I loved season one of Fargo, just wait. I finished season two last night and to be honest I did love it. But also found the continuous and progressive violence tough to stomach. The final episode gave me respite, but I could have used more introspection and less shooting and cutting through the season arc. Still after all it is a story about the Midwest Mafia in the late 1970’s and how regular, law-abiding citizens get caught up in their battles, so what was I expecting? Pleasantville?  Brilliant casting featuring Kirsten Dunst, Patrick Wilson, Jean Smart, Bokeem Woodbine, Jesse Plemons, Zahn McClarnon, Jeffrey Donovan, Angus Sampson, Rachel Keller, Brad Garrett, and Nick Offerman. Thrilled not only to see Jean Smart back on television, but in such a complex, diabolical role. Juicy doesn’t even begin to describe it. Yea, okay, I loved season two a little more than I care to admit. Just wish they would have had a little less gore. 4 out of 5 for Fargo.

2/1/2017: Yes Fargo: Season 2 is a bloodbath. But it’s also as good as any film released recently. The story arc, characters, acting, directing, cinematography – all first-rate. I loved how they kept circling back to fill in the blanks. And if nothing else, there are two words to explain the awe of Fargo: Season 2: Jean Smart. I’m raising my rating to 5 out of 5.

2 Responses to “Fargo: S2”

  1. thejewels18 Says:

    Best lines:
    Peggy ” It’s just a flying saucer Hon, come on, we’ve got to go!”
    and
    Lou:” We’re friendly people around here.”
    Mike Mulligan:””No, you are decidedly not, but you are so polite about it.”
    Loved the continuing Fargo theme of one very healthy, sane individual (Marge, Molly, Lou) dealing with violent, criminally insane psychopaths, as well as really stupid people making really criminally stupid choices.
    You betcha!

    Like

Leave a Reply

