Eisenstein in Guanajuato

eisenstein in guanajuantoPeter Greenaway’s (The Cook, the Thief, His Wife & Her Lover ) mess of a film, Eisenstein in Guanajuato released on DVD this week. I went into this knowing the film had mixed reviews. Normally that doesn’t bother me. I shy away from most reviews and movie talk until after I’ve seen something for myself. I also heard there was a hardcore male/male sex scene in the film. With interest piqued, I ventured forth into Greenaway territory.

The initial imagery and cinematography impressed. Kudos for the non-traditional shots and edits. Unfortunately after a while the sight and sound made my head spin. Too much to see, too fast, too many words coming out of everyone’s mouths. Exhausting. Then there was the sex scene. Most of you know I’m very pro-sex. But I have to admit in film I prefer sex to propel the story forward – as with any scene that doesn’t end up on the cutting room floor (or in the recycle bin of the computer) – what about this particular scene adds to the completeness of the film? This particular sex scene was absurd. The straight male tour guide topped Eisenstein who was gay but a virgin. Straight man masculine, gay man feminine. Boring. Also, Eisenstein talked non-stop throughout with more than a few references to blood. The rest of the scene was an annoyingly pretentious remake of the 40 year-old virgin. I watched more than 30 minutes before turning the film off for good. I didn’t connect with Greenaway’s filmmaking, message or  style. 1 out of 5. Next.

Leave a Reply

