Infamous

infamousI wanted to take another look at the two Capote biopics released a year apart from each other in the mid-2000s. First up – Infamous – the Christine Vachon produced film starring Toby Jones as Capote,  featuring Sandra Bullock as Harper Lee, John Benjamin Hickey as Capote’s lover Jack Dunphy, Daniel Craig as Perry Smith, Lee Pace as Dick Hickock with  Sigourney Weaver, Isabella Rossellini, Peter Bogdanovich, Rey Arteaga, Jeff Daniels, Daniel Craig, Juliet Stevenson, Michael Panes, and Hope Davis  as the NYC society Greek chorus. I rated this film high ten years ago. I have to admit, a second look proved a bit problematic. I found myself struggling with Sandra Bullock in such an important role. I eventually warmed up to her Harper Lee, but in the beginning I struggled with her believability. The other issue I had stemmed from the frivolity of it. I didn’t remember Infamous being so light and breezy. In the end, I enjoyed Infamous and found Jones’ Capote a strong character. His interactions with Hickey, Pace, and particularly Craig made the film worth watching. The rest was icing. 3.5 out of 5.

Leave a Reply

