Lady Dynamite

lady dynamite

Comedy sure is subjective. Time and time again I watch something with a bit of hype and I just don’t get it. The most recent example of this is Lady Dynamite – Netflix’s newest show – a fictionalized version of comedian Maria Bamford’s life. The title is ironic – Maria’s a GenX-er who’s squirming her way through an awkward life. Great supporting cast featuring Mary Kay Place(!), Fred Melamed, Mo Collins, Ed Begley, Jr., Ana Gasteyer, and Ólafur Darri Ólafsson. And cameos from Patton Oswalt and Mark McGrath playing themselves. Interesting premise, Lady Dynamite simply doesn’t make me laugh. The bisexual date scene left me confused. Where was the character development? What was the point? You might want to give Lady Dynamite a whirl if you like quirky, dorky, comedy that breaks the fourth wall. For me? 2 out of 5. Next.

2 Responses to “Lady Dynamite”

  1. Uncle Barb Says:

    Years ago I watched a stand-up performance by Maria that I thought was brilliant, since then I’ve been disappointed. Either I was cynically deficient that night long ago or she had a onsie that worked. All subsequent attempts to tune in to her have failed.

    Like

    • reelcharlie Says:

      I watch some comedians and understand they are smart and inventive. But I just don’t laugh. Others, it doesn’t matter what comes out of their mouths – I’m howling.

      Like

Leave a Reply

