I Love Dick (Amazon Pilot)

i love dickNo, that’s not on a t-shirt I owned in the 80’s, although it could have been. Based on Chris Kraus’ 1997 novel Love Dick, Transparent creator Jill Soloway adapted the novel into an Amazon pilot that appears to already have been picked up for a full season. I Love Dick is odd and quirky – a 21st Century Woody Allenesque exposé of a NYC couple who trek out to Marfa, Texas for a fellowship with some genius recluse wannabee cowboy hipster named Dick. Dick is played slyly by Kevin Bacon. The NYers played by Kathryn Hahn and Griffin Dunne venture out of their urban bubble and into a bizarre small town set up for quirky academics and performance artists. The tone of I Love Dick was odd to be sure. I have no doubt that was the point. I just hope that can be sustained on some level, or better we can see beyond the oddness in future episodes to a greater depth of character development. The jury’s still out on this one. But I am intrigued so I will definitely watch episode two when it gets released next year. Meanwhile 3 out of 5 for the pilot.

Leave a Reply

