Hinterland: Season 1, Episodes 1 & 2

hinterland-s1Sometimes I wonder if my mood effects whether I click with a television series. I’ve been meaning to watch Hinterland for some time now. It’s been in my Netflix queue since they added it. Hinterland is a murder mystery police procedural which takes place in Aberystwyth, Wales and is billed as a Celtic noir police drama. I wanted to love it. It was recommended by my good friends Nina and Joe. I hesitated even blogging about it because I didn’t want to disappoint them. But after two episodes, I found Hinterland to be ordinary and predictable. The young characters were never fully developed. And one wonders why the lead detective is such a loner. I realize I may not have given it enough time for these answers to reveal themselves. Everything fit fine and I watched the episodes all the way through. Hinterland just didn’t grab me like I wanted it to. 2.5 out of 5.

Production note (from IMDb): Speaking scenes were filmed twice, in English and then in Welsh; the show was broadcast in both languages. (The English version was filmed first as not all the crew spoke Welsh.)

Leave a Reply

