Birthday Reflections (2016)

feelgoodI’m feeling particularly reflective this year because of the election. I struggle over not wanting to post drivel on Reel Charlie – possibly insulting those of us who still wade through intense emotions over the outcome and uncertainty of the next four years. I continue to be filled with a myriad of feelings which change throughout the day. Anxiety leads to anger, fear, hurt, confusion, compulsion, and hopelessness. I’m not really a glass half empty kind of guy – at least when I put my mind to it. So I end up finding hope in something at some point. Given the gravity of the situation, it’s a good thing I haven’t brushed this off and ignored the severity.

But we must take breaks. We must refuel and catch our breath. Film can be a much-needed relief from the pressures of our current reality. So my happy birthday to me this year is a reminder for all of us to watch more feel-good movies. And to that end, I give you Time Out’s list of the 25 best feel-good films on Netflix posted last month. My personal favorites include,

The Shawshank Redemption (1994)
Legally Blonde (2001)
Chocolat (2001)
Mermaids (1990)
The Dish (2000)

Read the full article and see the list of all 25 films.
Share your go-to feel-goods in the comments section.
And yes after I refuel, I’m ready to continue to fight for justice and equality.

Leave a Reply

