Seconds

secondsA 50-something man is offered a fresh start from a secret company who will give him a new face, younger body, new identity, and fake his death. The man turns from John Randolph into Rock Hudson. Hudson was 41 at the time of shooting. Personally if someone offered me this deal, I’d want to go back to 32. But that’s just me. John Frankenheimer’s Seconds based on David Ely’s novel has been on my to-watch list for years. The psychedelic cinematography made to mimic tedium and madness certainly exceeds thanks to James Wong Howe. And an appearance by Will Geer made me smile. But I had difficulty relating to the story and execution. Directing and acting felt flat to me. The grape crushing orgy scene went on and on. I lost interest shortly after and didn’t finish the film. I realize Seconds has a very high rating on Rotten Tomatoes and received the Criterion treatment. Just didn’t appeal to me. 2 out of 5. Next.

Leave a Reply

