Ghostbusters (2016)

ghostbustersEvery so often, a big Hollywood blockbuster comes along and surprises me. Yeah for the Ghostbusters all-female reboot which did exactly that. I am in desperate need of light, fun, entertainment these days to balance our daily reality. Thanks to Gilmore Girls, I am already in love with Melissa McCarthy. Although truth be told, I feel she’s been pigeonholed a bit too obviously as the kooky fat girl. I’m thrilled for her success, but wish her more nuance in roles. Ghostbusters provided just that. I fell in love for the first time with Kristin Wiig and Leslie Jones. Strong, solid performances from both. And I really fell in love with Kate McKinnon who is an absolute powerhouse to watch. So happy I gave this silly, fun film a chance. And Chris Hemsworth to boot. What’s not to love about this man proving he’s got comic ability to match his beauty. 3.5 out of 5 for Ghostbusters. I have a feeling there’s going to be a sequel. Girl power rules!

Leave a Reply

