Fleabag: Season 1

fleabag-s1So a number of young women recently pointed me to Fleabag, a new Netflix import from Great Britain. I sat down and watched two episodes from the first season this week. Creatively, Fleabag instantly grabs you by breaking the fourth wall over and over. Will the audience be able to sustain interest in being spoken directly to? You’re probably going to have to ask one of the many young women who love this show. The combination of the overuse of the fourth wall and the lead character’s distasteful attributes turned me off. I get how hip this show is. But I’m unwilling to make the leap into cheering on someone who randomly shoplifts wine and steals from her step-mother. That’s just bad karma. I do love the masturbating scene – not for the perviness of it, but for the choice of subject she focuses on. That was LOL funny. So I get why this is a hit. I’m simply not the target audience. 3 out of 5.

2 Responses to “Fleabag: Season 1”

  1. Uncle Barb Says:

    Not in the target audience either apparently. Hohum … trite and mean.

    Like

Leave a Reply

