The OA: Season 1

oa-s1Netflix snuck the release of their new paranormal mystery series, The OA out to little fanfare but soon a firestorm of praise and interest whirled online. I blew through all eight episodes in a matter of a few days. I tried saving the final episode for tomorrow, but I just couldn’t help myself. I had to watch it through to the end. The OA is being compared to Netflix other recent hit, Stranger Things which I didn’t love. I tried watching Stranger Things twice and just couldn’t get into the 80’s vibe and overacting on the part of Winona Ryder. The OA brings together sophisticated storytelling, great acting, suspenseful action and a mystical quality to the piece. Brit Marling and Zal Batmanglij (The East) team up again to bring us The OA. I kept thinking of sitting around the campfire listening to ghost stories. That’s the feeling The OA evokes. And then it goes deeper and more magical. Marling leads the supporting actors through her character Prairie’s story and their lives will never ever be the same. I simply loved The OA. Powerful, contemporary, insightful, and full of questions. Not to be missed. 5 out of 5.

3/14/2017: Watched The OA for a second time while dealing with a snowstorm and a sore throat this week. Still as suspenseful the second time around. My only complaint might be the fight between Hap and his mentor. But honestly it’s such a minor blip in the 8-episode arc, I’m willing to forgive. Loved the idea of traveling through other dimensions. Completely and utterly absorbed the second time around.

Leave a Reply

