10 Years on Netflix

netflix

It’s been 10 years since I started my subscription to Netflix – forever changing the landscape of film and television viewing. Prior to 2007 when I was working at Alternative Video, we used to refer to Netflix as the N word. Now a decade later, for all its shortcomings most of us don’t know how we ever lived without subscription streaming services.

My first DVD I got from Netflix in 2007 was Quinceañera, the indie film from husbands Richard Glatzer and Wash Westmoreland who eventually gave us Still AliceQuinceañera was a lovely coming of age film with a wonderfully subversive gay male supporting character. Both gender and sexuality were on display and challenged in this brave film.

Over the past 10 years I’ve received 1,137 DVDs in total. I started streaming in 2007, but it wasn’t until 2013 that I hit my stride. I’ve clocked 1,328 streaming items which includes individual television episodes as well as things I gave up on after a few minutes. But yes, all total I’ve watched some part of or in full 2,465 episodes and films in the past 10 years through Netflix, which has become my primary way to obtain content. I love Amazon Prime and I still buy DVDs and Blu-rays, but Netflix continues to be my primary go-to.

Wonder what the landscape will look like 10 years from now? Will the cloud rule our life? Will we be slaves to our screens? Or will some cyber warfare or new generation move us away from the virtual and embrace a kinder, gentler form of reality? Where are we heading?

Leave a Reply

