American Crime Story: The People vs. O.J. Simpson

people-vs-oj-simpsonFinally sat down and watched the FX produced O.J. Simpson mini-series, The People v. O.J. Simpson: American Crime Story. I needed a major distraction from life this weekend. Of course did I watch the ESPN documentary series that’s been nominated for an Oscar to prepare for my annual library program, How to Win Your Oscar Pool I co-host each year with my colleague, teen librarian Nicole? Of course not. I binged the bio-pic series which was much more TV Movie of the Week. First let me say Sarah Paulson slays as Marcia Clark. It is literally worth watching all ten hours just to see Paulson in her element. She honestly deserves the accolades and awards she’s received from the project.  Other stand-out performances include Courtney B. Vance as Johnnie Cochran and Sterling K. Brown as Christopher Darden. Many of the remaining cast delivered uneven performances. But it is what it is. This is not supposed to be high brow drama. This is exploitative good fun. I liked the series a lot more than I anticipated. I don’t remember many of the details from the 90’s crime and trial. 3.5 out of 5 for this salacious romp down memory lane.

If you like this kind of entertainment, look for Season 2 to focus on Hurricane Katrina, Season 3 to focus on the Gianni Versace murder, and Season 4 to focus on the Clinton/Lewinsky scandal. Good times.

Leave a Reply

