Home Fires: Season 2

I love the British period drama Home Fires. I don’t hear many people talking about it. I think it’s one of the best series produced recently. That makes it a sleeper hit for me. Season 2 continues the complicated stories of a small town in England during World War II told from women’s perspectives. I particularly like what the writers did with Teresa, the lesbian character. Especially her scenes with the female pilot. They didn’t sugar coat nor did they sensationalize the need for many people to seek out opposite sexed partners in order to fit in during this time period. I absolutely adore Samantha Bond (Downton Abbey) and my heart breaks as I cheer for Pat to break the literal bonds she’s imprisoned in. Wasn’t seeing that cliff hanger coming during the final episode that’s for sure. Home Fires is the kind of series I could watch again and enjoy immensely. 5 out of 5 for the excellently produced series.

2 Responses to “Home Fires: Season 2”

  1. Uncle Barb Says:

    We watched the last episode yesterday and I am still reeling though appreciative of being able to weave my own endings. Thoroughly enjoyed those plucky broads who all ultimately suffered at the hands of fate,

    Like

Leave a Reply

