Something in the Dirt

I cherish indie films and unfortunately find them less and less these days since I am not going to film festivals as much as I used to. It’s also hard to search for content on the streamers. Something in the Dirt came out in 2022. It’s a hybrid indie sci-fi/horror/comedy with two characters, both male, one gay – although there’s no love life for either guy. They live in a run-down apartment complex in L.A. There seems to be something apocalyptic going on that’s never acknowledged – fires burn in the sky and helicopters constantly fly low. The two guys discover a piece of quartz floats in the air and figure they can create a documentary to cash in on the phenomenon. And that’s about where the interest ended for me. I watched a full 40 minutes before I began fast-forwarded and eventually bailed. It was definitely worth the watch. I am always interested in which indie might rise to the top in any given year. And I look forward to the filmmakers next project. Meanwhile, Something in the Dirt didn’t make the mark and gets a 2.5 out of 5. Next.

Something in the Dirt currently streams on Hulu and on disk from your local public library.

Leave a comment