Sugar: Season 1

So happy nothing spoiled the late in the series surprise of Sugar. I was able to naively enjoy when about 10 minutes before the reveal, I thought, ah ha! Got it. Colin Farrell plays John Sugar to perfection. The private eye’s at the top of his game, drives an incredible car – a blue Chevrolet Corvette, originally introduced in 1953, and moves through a modern day Los Angeles as if he’s in a film noir. In fact film buffs will explode with joy over the injection of clips from classic films of mid 20th Century. Genious. Sugar’s a good guy, even when he has to do bad things. He’s kind to animals – his dog Wiley deserves an Emmy. And the whole show is a treatise on how we treat each other, with a critique of our laser focus on all things other than kindness. Excellent supporting cast with Farrell including I know I’ve seen them somewhere else busy actors Amy Ryan, Sydney Chandler, James Cromwell, Dennis Boutsikaris, Nate Corddry, Anna Gunn, and Jason Butler Harner. Sugar‘s so much freaking fun, I am thrilled I watched it (thanks Julia!). I loved this genre busting show and am excited there’s a chance for a second season. 5 out of 5.

Sugar currently streams on Apple TV.

2 Responses to “Sugar: Season 1”

  1. thejewels18 Says:

    I couldn’t have said it better!

    Like

Leave a comment